Recovering Compensation After a Snow or Ice Accident in New Jersey

Recovering Compensation After a Snow or Ice Accident in New Jersey

As the winter season approaches, the number of snow or ice-related injuries will begin to spike. If you were injured in a snow or ice accident, you are most likely now seeking financial compensation. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What causes snow and ice accidents?

Some of the most common causes of snow and ice accidents are icy handrails, unsalted walkways, unshoveled or unsalted steps, hanging icicles left to break on their own, and more. Rather obviously, these hazardous conditions can cause various types of slip and fall injuries.

What are the most frequently sustained injuries in snow and ice accidents?

Snow and ice accidents have the potential to cause serious injuries that can affect the rest of your life. Some of the most common injuries sustained as a result of snow and ice accidents are as follows:

  • Gashes requiring stitches
  • Facial disfiguration
  • Broken bones
  • Back trauma
  • Concussions
  • Lacerations

How do I recover financial compensation if I was injured in a snow or ice accident?

In New Jersey, property owners have 12 hours from the time a weather event ended to clear away all snow and ice-related conditions. If they fail to do so and you are injured as a result after the 12-hour mark, there is a very good chance you will be able to hold the property owner liable.

If you can prove that you were injured due to another party’s negligence, you should recover compensation. However, you will need an experienced attorney on your side who knows how to win a personal injury claim. To prove your claim, an attorney will work to obtain photographs or videos of your accident, medical documents, police reports of the incident, witness statements, and more.

What is the statute of limitations for personal injury claims in New Jersey?

The statute of limitations is the window of time you have to take legal action against a negligent property owner. In New Jersey, the statute of limitations is two years, meaning you have two years from the date of an accident to file a personal injury claim. If you wait any longer than two years, you will be denied your right to sue. We are ready to get the claims process started to recover the financial compensation you deserve and need.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

If you or someone you know was involved in an accident and wishes to speak with an attorney, contact the Law Office of Christopher T. Howell, Esq.today. If you have sustained serious injuries due to another party’s negligence, there is no reason for you to suffer alone. The compensation you receive may cover the cost of your medical bills, lost wages and more. Do yourself a favor and let us work with you to attain the financial assistance you need.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Recovering Compensation After a New Jersey Escalator Accident
  •  What Should I do After a New Jersey Car Accident?
  •  Recovering Compensation After a Sidewalk Accident in New Jersey